The Working Group meeting on Telecom

Brussels 16 June, 2015

On 16 June, 2015, the delegation of Kosovo and the delegation of Serbia met in Brussels to discuss on the implementation of the telecom agreement.

Kosovo Minister for Dialogue, Edita Tahiri stated that in this round of negotiations between Kosovo and Serbia it was discussed about the alignment of views between them on the issues related to the finalization of the action plan on telecom. In this way, Kosovo will receive an international telephony code (+383) directly by the ITU and through the request of Austria.

“Defining and receiving a telephony code for Kosovo is of great importance because Kosovo will have a unique code just like every country, unlike the current situation where in use are several codes,” said Minister Tahiri.

By agreeing to the implementation plan, the Government of Kosovo was hoping to terminate the operation of illegal telecom operators in Kosovo.

The delegation of the Republic of Kosovo was headed by Minister Edita Tahiri and in composition were: Valon Murtezaj, political adviser to Prime Minister Mustafa; Gazmir Raci, political coordinator for the telecom; Elona Cecelia, advisor to Minister Tahiri; Ekrem Hoxha, coordinator of the expert group and chairman the Board of RAEPC; Ilir Imeri, Head of Department of Electronic Communications in RAEPC; Ardrit Gashi, political adviser to minister Stavileci; Rexhe Gjonbalaj, chairman of the Board of PTK; Mehdi Latifaj, technical director at PTK; and Kosovo Ambassador in Belgium, Mimoza Ahmetaj.